Dacor WineStation

The Architectural Digest Show — Part 3

Hey Appliance Fans,

We’ve come to the final installment chronicling my trip to the 2013 Architectural Digest Show and I’m glad you’ve followed me on this harrowing journey.  We’ve laughed, we’ve cried, and I think we can both agree that we’ve bonded in a way few bloggers and blog readers can.  You should feel special.  I know I do.

I can get a little melodramatic.  Sorry.  Anyway, if you read part one you know I was all about Clark Sorenson’s fully-functional flower urinals.  If you read part two, you know that I was still all about Clark Sorenson’s fully-functional flower urinals.  Some of you may be wondering if I’m being paid by Clark to mention his artwork.   I’m not.  I just think they are sweet:

I want one!!!!!

I want one!!!!!

I also mentioned in part two that part three would reveal the coolest most awesomey appliance at the show.  I will get to that announcement in just a bit, but first:

A crazy thing I always experience in New York is walking somewhere specific and passing really famous stuff unexpectedly.  This trip was no different.  As I was walking to the restaurant where we dined (http://becco-nyc.com), go there if you get a chance, I turned my head and saw…

The Colbert Report

Love him or hate him, it was pretty cool to stumble upon the studio.

And now onto the show…

Verona

Two households, both alike in dignity,
In fair Verona, where we lay our scene,
From ancient grudge break to new mutiny,
Where civil blood makes civil hands unclean.
From forth the fatal loins of these two foes
A pair of star-crossed lovers take their life…

Call Guinness.  I just broke the world record for most Shakespeare quotes in an appliance blog.  Anyway, Verona is an Italian company that has a variety of cooktop, range, and oven options with many unique size accommodations.  I’m far over due on a blog post specifically about everything Verona offers.  I will absolutely remedy this as soon as possible.  Obviously from the picture, they offer color options.

Ranges, Cooktops, Wall Ovens, a special Verona blog post is coming soon.

Ranges, Cooktops, Wall Ovens, etc. A special Verona blog post is coming soon.

Perlick

Few things get me as excited as super- duper chillified, obnoxiously cold beer.  Weird huh?  An Irish guy who likes beer.  Perlick does a fantastic job at cooling a case of beer to a viciously delicious thirty-four degrees in about twenty-five minutes.  They achieve this rapid chill through forced-air refrigeration.

`Murica: What’s forced air refrigeration, Kieffer’s Guy?

Kieffer’s Guy:  Great question, America.  Forced air refrigeration is just like convection in an oven but instead of heated air, there’s cooled air.  A fan is located in the back of the Perlick circulating frost-bitten air around the interior.  Couple that with a powerful compressor, and Perlick can get that case of Pliny The Elder freakishly cold in about twenty-five minutes.

WANT.

WANT.

Side note: Pliny The Elder is a double IPA brewed by Russian River Brewing in California.  Dying to try it.  Readers in Cali, please mail me some!

Never heard of Perlick?  Next time you’re in a bar (hotel, restaurant, local watering hole, whatever), take a look at the refrigerators behind the bar.  I can almost guarantee that at least one of the units is a Perlick.  My point is that Perlick originally manufactured commercial-grade refrigeration for businesses long before they dove into the residential market.  They know refrigeration and offer a variety of options in under-counter indoor and outdoor units from freezers, ice makers, and refrigerators to beverage centers, wine coolers, kegerators, and refrigerator drawers.  Love it.

Take a look at this Perlick Beverage Center.  I love the blue light.

Take a look at this Perlick Beverage Center. I love the blue light.

AND NOW, THE GREAT REVEAL

Appliances fans, now is the time I reveal my favorite, most awesomey appliance at the 2013 Architectural Digest Show.  Drum roll please………………………..3…………..2…………………..1

Dacor WineStation

STOP WHAT YOU ARE DOING

Wine.  In a wall.  Ready to serve at the perfect temperature while also providing perfect storage for when I’m not pouring myself a glass.  I give you Dacor’s WineStation!!

Dacor WineStation

Oh. My. Goodness.

This beautiful creature stores four bottles of wine and you can pre-program  Dacor’s WineStation to dispense a full glass, a sample amount, or anything between.   The vintage and year of each bottle can be displayed on each screen above the bottle.  Take a closer look at the installation and you’ll notice that you can install this FLUSH with a wall or cabinetry.  This allows for total integration into your kitchen or bar area.  Don’t want to install it into a wall/cabinet?   It can install on a counter.  Simply plug it into an outlet and you’re ready to go.

Dacor’s WineStation is designed to store wine for up to sixty days using an advanced dispensing mechanism and argon gas.  Argon is pumped into the bottle which settles below any air that could get inside.  I’m not a scientist, but because Argon is heavier than air, it rests above the wine preventing the aforementioned air from oxidizing the fermented goodness.  And don’t worry future WineStation owners, there is a lock to keep pesky Irishman like myself (or your kids) out of the grapey wonder.

Dacor WineStation

Each screen displays the year and vintage of each bottle.

I’m so excited to say that soon and very soon, we will install Dacor’s WineStation in the showroom and of course it will be live.  And of course I’ll blog more about it.

That’s all for now; I’m really looking forward to next year’s trip and I’ll be sure to write about it too.  Until next time, America!

-The Kieffer’s Guy
kieffersguy@kieffers.com

As always, don’t forget to visit the Kieffer’s website for all of your appliance needs in Eastern Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, Maryland, Delaware, and Washington DC!

Leave a Reply

